Ashtanga – 8 limbs of Yoga

Ashtanga - 8 limbs of Yoga

The name “8 limbs come from Sanskrit term Ashtanga. Eight yogic principles when adopted in life, one can reach the fullness of life. Ashtanga became popular with the Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga system but it has mostly to do with asana and pranayama. 8 Limbs of Yoga Patanjali’s eight-fold doctrine is for a leading to a meaningful […]

What is Mysore style Ashtanga Yoga

Mysore Ashtanga Yoga Heidelberg | Yoga Shala Heidelberg

Mysore Style Ashtanga Yoga Mysore Style Ashtanga Yoga is named after the city Mysore in southern India where the Guru of Ashtanga Yoga, Sri K. Pattabhi Jois lived and taught the method of Ashtanga for his entire life. He founded the K. Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Institute (KPJAYI) where today his grandson and the Guru of […]

Tristhana – 3 Powerful Principles of Ashtanga Yoga

The vinyāsa, the connecting movements between the postures, is composed of 3 fundamentals (Tristana) which are: The breathing (Ujjãyi Prãnãyãma) – the victorious breath The control of the pelvic floor, and abdominal ball  (Mūla Bāndha) The focused gaze (Drishti) in the postures (āsana). Ashtanga Yoga uses a three-fold approach to yoga asana called Tristana. Tristana consists […]